Notable Alumni

Aftab Hussain Saikia

Class of 1974 - LLM
2009 - PhD (Law)

The only sitting judge of a High Court to obtain a PhD degree within the country while in office, Dr Aftab Hussain Saikia obtained his LLM degree from GU in 1974 and PhD in 2009. He became Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir and later of Sikkim.

Bhabananda Deka
(1929- 2006)

Class of 1957 - MA (Economics)

Widely acclaimed as the pioneer of economics research in Assam, Professor Bhabananda Deka conducted valuable research on the economy of the north eastern part of India. He was also a reputed Assamese litterateur of the Awahon-Ramdhenu (আৱাহন-ৰামধেনু) era of Assamese Literature in the mid-20th Century.

A prolific author, Prof Deka authored 115 books in both Assamese and English on a wide range of subjects.

Birendranath Dutta

MA (Economics)
1974 - PhD (Folklore)

Known for his baritone voice, Professor Birebndranath Dutta is an academician, linguist, folklore researcher, lyricist and a singer of repute. With his brilliant academic career, Professor Dutta was also the former Head of the Department of Folklore Research at GU.

Professor Dutta was conferred Padma Shri in 2009 for his works in Literature and Education. He has been a President of Asam Sahitya Sabha (2004), and won the Sahitya Akademi Ward in 2012.

Harishankar Brahma

MA (Political Science)

Harishankar Brahma is a retired IAS officer, who became the 19th Chief Election Commissioner of India, only the second person from the Northeast India to grace this position.

Shri Brahma completed his postgraduation in Political Science from GU.

Arupa Patangia Kalita

PhD (English)

A novelist of repute, Dr Arupa Patangia Kalita is well known for her views on gender and religion. She did her MA and PhD in English from GU. Winner of the Sahitya Akademi Award in 2014, Dr Patangia's writings have been translated into English, Hindi, and Bengali.

Bhupendra Nath Goswami

Class of 1971 - MSc (Physics)

Winner of the Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award - the highest academic award in the field of Science & Technology of the country - Dr Bhupendra Nath Goswami obtained his MSc in Physics from GU in 1971. A meteorologist and a climatologist of international repute, Dr Goswami is well known for his studies on Indian Monsoon dynamics. He has been the director of the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology and Pisharoty Chair Professor at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Reserach.

A fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and Indian National Science Academy, Dr Goswami is now at Cotton University as a SERB Distinguished Fellow.

Elangbam Nilakanta Singh
(1927 - 2000)

LLB, MA (Philosophy)

Considered as one of the pioneers of Meitei Literature, Elangbam Nilakanta Singh obtained his Masters in Philosphy from GU. A recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1987, Sri Singh was also conferred Padma Shri in the year 2000.

Himanta Biswa Sarma

2006 - PhD (Political Science)

Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma is the present Chief Minister of Assam (15th). A PhD in Politcal Science from GU, Dr Sarma has been a Cabinet Minister in the Legislative Assembly of Assam holding the portfolios of Health and Education.