Notable Alumni

Jitendra Nath Goswami

Class of 1964 - MSc (Physics)

Chief Scientist of India's first lunar mission, the Chandrayan Mission, Jitendra Nath Goswami has had a brilliant academic career. An MSc in Physics from GU, Dr Goswami went on to win the prestigious Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Aaward (1994) and became the Director of Physical Research Laboratory (Ahmedabad). Among many awards, he was conferred Padma Shri in 2017.

Kishore Kalidas Jadav
(1938- 2018)

Class of 1972 - MCom

Born in Gujarat, Kishore Kalidas Jadav was a novelist and critic, and short story writer, who wrote in Gujarati Langauge and is credited with the development of surreal Gujarati fiction. He obtained his Master's degree in Commerce from GU.

Mahim Bora
(1924 - 2016)

Class of 1952 - MA (Assamese)

An educationist, short story writer, and a poet of repute, Mahim Bora obtained his MA in Assamese Literature from GU in 1952. Decorated with various prestigious awards which includes Padma Shri (2011), Sahitya Akademi Award (2001), and the Assam Valley Literary Award (1998), he was also conferred its highest literary honour - the Shatiyacharyya award - by Asam Sahitya Sabha in 2007.

Nagen Saikia

Class of 1964 - MA (Assamese)

A novelist, writer of essays and short stories, and an eminent critic of literature and contemporary society, Dr Nagen Saikia did his MA in Assamese Literature from GU in 1964. Conferred the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1997, one of the most notable works of Dr Saikia is - Mita-Bhas (মিতাভাষ) - a collection of short expressions that represents a genre of writing he is credited with evolving. He also served as Asam Sahitya Sabha President (1997).

Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi
(1932 - 2004)

Class of 1955 - MA (Assamese)
1972 - PhD (Assamese Literature)

One of the most celebrated poets, lyricists, and folklorists of Assamese Literature, Dr Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi's was a household name in Assam. Winner of the Sahitya Academy Award in 1983 for her poetry collection - Sudirgha Din Aru Ritu (সুদীৰ্ঘ দিন আৰু ঋতু), Dr Bordoloi won the President's Award in 1987 for Children's Literature and Asam Sahitya Sabha Award twice in 1977 and 1989. She became the President of Asam Sahitya Sabha in 1991.

Married at the age of 11 and mother at the age of 13, Dr Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi fought many odds to become a celebrated author.

Jogesh Das
(1927 - 1999)

Class of 1953 - MA (Assamese)

A prolific short story writer and an early alumnus of GU, Jogesh Das obtained his MA in Assamese Literature from GU in 1953. He is bestk known for his work - Prithivir Oxukh (পৃথিৱীৰ অসুখ) - a short story collection - which won him the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award in 1980.

Maheswar Neog
(1915 - 1995)

1955 - PhD (Assamese Literature)

One of the finest scholars and litterateurs from Assam, Dr Maheswar Neog was an alumnus of Gauhati University. His PhD thesis (in 1955) on the great Assamese saint and social reformer, Sri Sri Sankardeva, serves as the ultimate treatise on the subject till date.

He was the Jawaharlal Nehru Professor at Gauhati University during 1978-1984 and later Saint Sankaradeva Professor at Punjabi University, Patiala.

He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1974 and also became the President of Asam Sahitya Sabha in the same year. In 1994, he was awarded the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship, the highest honour conferred by the Sangeet Natak Akademi, India's National Academy for Music, Dance and Drama.

The university has erected hist bust in front of the Main Academic Building in his honour.

Mamoni Rasisom Goswami
(1942 - 2011)

Class of 1963 - MA (Assamese)

Recipient of the Jnanpith Award (2000) and Sahitya Akademi Award (1983), Dr Indira Goswami received her Master's degree in Assamese Literature from GU in 1963. Known by her pen name Mamoni Raisom Goswami, she has been a celebrated scholar, writer, poet, and educator of the country.

Nalinidhar Bhattacharya
(1921 - 2016)

MA (Assamese)

Regarded as one of the important poets of the Jayanti Era (জয়ন্তী যুগ) of Assamese Literature, Nalinidhar Bhattacharya did his MA in Assamese Literature from GU.

Winner of the Sahitya Akademi Award (2002), Sri Bhattacharya was also conferred the Soviet Land Nehru Award in 1983 and Assame Valley Literary Award in 2006. He is the elder borther of another celebrated GU Alumnus - Dr Birendra Kumar Bhattacharya.